Life In the Hills

SONY DSC

On the 26th of October we loaded two large removals trucks with all our worldly possessions and set of for a 30 minute drive to our new home in Emerald.

Thirty minutes in time but a whole different world awaited us.

We could have been forgiven for wondering what had possessed us to move when we saw our new lounge room full to the brim with more than 160 boxes, all waiting to be unpacked. But a glance out the window saw a family of kookaburras sitting on our porch rail, waiting to be fed.

Who knew how noisy kookaburras can be, if they are kept waiting for their dinner.

Anyone who knows me, would know that up until this point I have had a fear of birds. Being attacked multiple times by magpies last year, only served to strengthen this fear. But here I was hand feeding kookaburras.

How could you not fall in love with their cheeky looks, and quizzical glances.

Now in our new home, priorities are a little different when we get home.

We still greet our two dopey dogs, with their madly wagging tails, but then it is of to the fridge to get dinner for our feathered friends. It is so wonderful how the stress of the day melts when you are in beautiful surrounds this close to nature.

And we are even more blessed. Kookaburras are only one species of bird that lands on our porch waiting for a treat.

More news on the others and lots more pictures to come.

Bye for tonight from the folk in the hills.

http://www.glenviewretreat.com.au

Published by

Marianna Barker

I am a freelance photographer, passionate about capturing life's candid moments. Whilst I love doing all types of photography, I currently specialize in Portrait and Lifestyle Photography. I live in Emerald and you can view my work through this website, which I thank you for taking the time to visit. If you have an event that needs covering, please contact me

Leave a comment