Small Hills to Large

Alpine Way             Every morning we are still experiencing the thrill of waking up living in the beautiful hills of the Dandenong Ranges. Last week though I had to swap our hills for some that are slightly larger.

I had to travel to the Snowy Mountains for work. This was my very first time driving there myself, and the longest drive I had done on my own.

My GPS has a mind of it’s own and likes to take me on journey’s that do not always involve the most direct route. That is what it decided to do on this trip.

Leaving home it took me via almost every back road it could through to Yea, and then via Bonnie Doon until it at last decided we could join the Hume Hwy at Benalla. Following a stop at the local Benalla Bakery for lunch, it was back to chancing my luck with the GPS again.

It took me through Corryong and then onto Alpine Way. This road takes you through some magnificent scenery, Including views of Mt Kosciuszko, and the Snowy Hydro system. Snowy Hydro  It also consists of narrow cuttings and around 100kms of dry windy road.

The sun was starting to go down as I passed Thredbo, and kangaroos were appearing on the side of the road. I wasn’t just worried about hitting one of them, but there is also the very real danger of hitting a wild horse or deer.

It was an exhausted me that finally reached Jindabyne, and after a quick dinner, that motel bed certainly was good.

My GPS failed to behave on the way home as well, deciding that I need to take a 60km detour to Cooma.

I think I have the version that came with the optional sense of adventure button. I would love to hear from anyone else who has a GPS that leads them astray.

Jindabyne

Published by

Marianna Barker

I am a freelance photographer, passionate about capturing life's candid moments. Whilst I love doing all types of photography, I currently specialize in Portrait and Lifestyle Photography. I live in Emerald and you can view my work through this website, which I thank you for taking the time to visit. If you have an event that needs covering, please contact me

Leave a Reply

