Lantern Festival

Belgrave Lantern Festival – Winter Solstice

The Belgrave Lantern Festival is an annual event celebrating the Winter Solstice, but more importantly it heralds the turning point and the new beginnings as we head towards. Spring.

Inspired by a community lantern parade through the streets of Lismore, local Neil Bateman set about creating something  very special in Belgrave.

How is it that living so close by I had not realised that this wonderful event had been running since 2007.

Bringing to the town a wonderful sense of inclusiveness, a community coming to gather to celebrate, the Lantern Festival is inspiring.

It was a cold night so we rugged up warmly. Finding a car park did prove a bit challenging so be prepared to walk a little, however when we got there the place was pulsing. Music, friendly chatter and above all the anticipation of the arrival of the lanterns as soon as the sky had darkened.

Small children waving light sticks or holding their own lanterns lined the streets, adults chatting with neighbours and friends, the atmosphere was convivial.

Then as the last of the sunlight disappeared, the first lantern, a huge sun, appeared around the corner.

What amazed me the most was the creativity and variety of the lanterns people had made. It is not everyday you see hens, a grand piano, the tardis and so much more, turned into lanterns.

I have included a small selection of the photos I took on the night.

This was my first visit to the Lantern Festival, but it certainly will not be my last.

Regards

Marianna

Published by

Marianna Barker

I am a freelance photographer, passionate about capturing life's candid moments. Whilst I love doing all types of photography, I currently specialize in Portrait and Lifestyle Photography. I live in Emerald and you can view my work through this website, which I thank you for taking the time to visit. If you have an event that needs covering, please contact me

Leave a Reply

