Sad news for the town of Adare

Adare
Thatched cottages in the village of Adare

I heard some very sad news yesterday.

Last Saturday a large blaze broke out in the town of Adare in County Limerick, destroying a number of the beautiful thatched cottages that are a such a tourist attraction for the town.

One cottage, built in 1826 was gutted, another burnt to the ground and a third suffered serious water damage.

There are eleven thatched cottages, sitting in a row on the main street. They were originally built by the Dunraven family as staff houses.

Here is a photo that I took when we visited the town. The house in the foreground was the one that was gutted, the one beside it was destroyed.

Here is a link if anyone is interested in reading more about this very sad event.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/fire-destroys-adare-thatched-cottages-1.2240487

Published by

Marianna Barker

I am a freelance photographer, passionate about capturing life's candid moments. Whilst I love doing all types of photography, I currently specialize in Portrait and Lifestyle Photography. I live in Emerald and you can view my work through this website, which I thank you for taking the time to visit. If you have an event that needs covering, please contact me

Leave a Reply

